Walton sweeps top division of quad meets
by Adam Carrington
December 22, 2013 12:05 AM | 1463 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
MARIETTA — Walton used its depth Saturday to prevail over Lassiter, Kennesaw Mountain and Pope in Division I of the Cobb Quads Meet at Central Aquatic Center.

The Walton boys ended up with 331 points, winning by more than 100 points over Kennesaw Mountain (191). Lassiter (187) was third, with Pope (121) fourth.

The girls meet was tighter, but the Lady Raiders (293.5) still prevailed by 41 points over Lassiter. Kennesaw Mountain (155) was third and Pope (136) fourth.

The Lady Raiders captured two of three relays, including the 200-yard freestyle, with the final leg coming down to freshmen Gabbie Gauntt (Walton) and Anna Lofton (Lassiter). Gauntt won by .03 seconds with a time of 1 minute, 42.56 seconds.

Walton’s Kira de Bruyn (2:26.53) and Olivia Winkler (2:17.22) finished in the top two of the 200 individual medley. Walton also scored points in the 50 freestyle with freshmen Emma Cole (25.86), Gauntt (26.11) and Evan Arsenault (26.27) placing second, third and fourth behind Lofton, who won in 25.60. Three Walton swimmers — Johanna Keeline, Gauntt and Jane Watts — finished in the top five of the 100 freestyle.

Mary Beckwith was a two-time winner in the 200 freestyle (2:00.20) and 100 backstroke (1:04.21).

The Walton boys swept all three relays and had two swimmers finish in the top four of every event except the 100 freestyle. Their most impressive showing came in the 100 butterfly, with David Dingess winning in 52.59 and Jack Gunning second in 54.81.

Thomas Kelley won both of his events, clinching the 200 IM (2:06.42) and 100 breaststroke (1:02.38). Mark Keaveney, a freshman, was also a two-time winner in the 50 freestyle (22.11) and 100 backstroke (52.51). Kyle Hudon finished as the boys diving champion with a score of 187.6.

Lassiter freshman Allison Nastasi won the 500 freestyle in 5:16.12 to help the Lady Trojans. Maddie Hester was the girls diving champion at 256.7.

For Pope, Landon Bennett won the 500 freestyle in 4:58.74 and Emma Murray chipped in for the girls with a win in the 100 breaststroke (1:08.05).

Kennesaw Mountain’s Thomas Locke won the 100 freestyle in 48.91.

* The Wheeler boys clinched the Division II meet with 270 points, beating out Harrison by 18 points. North Cobb (368) was third and Kell (255) fourth.

The Harrison girls won by more than 100 points in the girls meet, totaling 309 points. Wheeler was second with 204, North Cobb was third with 191 and Kell ended up with 130.

For the Wheeler boys, Stephen Johnston won the 200 freestyle in 1:52.79, Kevin Zhou clinched the 100 freestyle (50.43) and Justin Cole was second in the 50 freestyle and third in the 100 freestyle.

The Wildcats also scored points when their relays took second and fourth in the 200 freestyle relay and third and fourth in the medley relay. They also took second in the 400 freestyle relay.

The Lady Hoyas clinched by sweeping all three relays.

Individually, they dominated the 50 freestyle by placing five swimmers in the top six, with Madison McConnell winning in 25.59. McConnell also won the 100 freestyle (58.01), Emily Hotinger took the 100 butterfly (1:05.96) and Olivia Jacobi won the 500 freestyle (5:35.63) and the 100 breaststroke (1:12.10).

The Harrison boys won two of three relays and their share of individual events, with Chris Contreras taking the 200 IM in 2:05.61 and 500 freestyle (5:06.00). Connor Maggio prevailed in the 100 butterfly (54.40) and 100 backstroke (57.37), and Alec Mau took the 100 breast (1:05.41).

Kell divers Austin Rives and Anthony Musciano took first and second in diving with 287.2 and 263.6 points, respectively.

For the Lady Longhorns, Alexandria Ham won the 200 IM (2:26.03).

North Cobb’s Ella Hasty won the 200 freestyle (2:18.36). Eric Ramos emerged victorious in the 50 freestyle (23.21) and helped the North Cobb boys 200 freestyle relay (1:33.98).

* The McEachern boys won Division IV with 156 points over Sprayberry (137) and Mount Paran Christian (35).

The Sprayberry girls prevailed with 318 points over McEachern (259) and Mount Paran (169).

The McEachern boys relay team of Remy DeCoux, Sean Ware, David Edmondson and Erick Graham won both the 200 medley (2:00.78) and 200 freestyle (1:43.14). Joseph Washington took Ware’s place in helping the Indians win the 400 freestyle (4:04.76).

Sprayberry won the 400 freestyle relay in 4:59.23.

Individually, Bailey Taylor won the 200 freestyle (2:44.66) and Nicole Ronczkowski clinched the 100 freestyle (1:00.31).

The Mount Paran girls won both the 200 medley (2:03.28) and 200 freestyle (1:51.05). Katie Larkin and Sarah Locke took first and second in the 100 backstroke with times of 1:06.10 and 1:08.36. Locke went on to win the 100 breaststroke in 1:18.32.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides