Schwaig receives esteemed Glass Ceiling Award
by CBJ Staff
June 03, 2013 12:00 AM | 971 views | 0 0 comments | 15 15 recommendations | email to a friend | print
CUMBERLAND — At the Cobb Chamber’s May First Monday Breakfast, Cobb Executive Women presented its 2013 Glass Ceiling Award to Kathy Schwaig. Schwaig is the Dean and Dinos Eminent Scholar chair of entrepreneurial management and professor of information systems in the Michael J. Coles College of Business at Kennesaw State University.

The Glass Ceiling Award recognizes an individual for promoting qualified women in their personal and professional development.

In her role, Schwaig provides guidance to young professionals entering higher education by recommending books, offering counsel, recommending resources and moderating situations.

She has participated in the Women’s Executive Leadership Series on many occasions, offering guidance to women in higher education on numerous topics. Schwaig joined the faculty at Kennesaw State University in 2002, bringing more than 20 years of professional and teaching experience.

She has also been the leader in establishing a Women’s Leadership Center on KSU’s campus. This program is one of the first of its kind to be offered through the business college. Schwaig has also participated in numerous alumni groups and Women’s Council History events hosted in conjunction with Cobb organizations such as the League of Women Voters, YWCA and Cobb Women’s Club.

“Kathy is truly one of the most incredible individuals I have ever met,” said Lisa Duke, director of Alumni Affairs at Kennesaw State University. “She sees each person as an individual and somehow finds the gem within each person, then strives to enable her mentees to find that joy inside themselves.”

The Coles College of Business includes five academic departments, 148 full-time faculty and 40 full-time staff. The college serves 4,000 undergraduates. studying in nine majors and 800 graduate students in one of three masters programs or one doctoral program.

Previous Glass Ceiling Award winners include Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens, Jerri Barr of the Center for Family Resources, Bonnie Cole of United Way Metro Atlanta, Joe Daniell of United Community Bank and Dr. Lisa Rossbacher of Southern Polytechnic State University.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides