30 Cobb seniors to be honored as STAR students
by Lindsay Field
February 10, 2013 12:52 AM | 4837 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Thirty seniors and teachers from 25 public and private schools in Cobb will be honored Monday night during the 46th annual STAR Student and Teacher banquet.

The celebration, sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Metropolitan Marietta and held at First United Methodist Church each year, recognizes students who were nominated by their schools as having the highest scores on any single date of the three-part SAT taken through November and are also in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of their class based on grade point average.

This year five schools had ties for STAR student: Allatoona, Pope, Cumberland Christian, Walton and Whitefield Academy.

Each STAR student is asked to nominate his or her STAR teacher, and they will be honored at the program as well.

Curt Spinney, who is organizing the event for the second year in a row, said they are expecting nearly 200 guests to attend.

The 2013 STAR Students and Teachers are:

  • Allatoona: Eric Kim and Charles Evans, Aaron Scherf and Sherry Berman
  • Campbell: Andrea Cooper and Melyn Roberson
  • Cornerstone Prep: Alison Jibilian and Brent King
  • Cumberland Christian: Daniel LeMay and Lawrence Davis, Bria Williams and Rhonwyn Kendrick
  • Dominion Christian: Elysia Moon and Kevin Rhoads
  • Harrison: Cullen Mowery and Michelle Bowman
  • Hillgrove: Luke Maurer and Paula Strickland
  • Kell: Michael Tarbell and Sara Griffin
  • Kennesaw Mountain: Max Toothman and Dr. James Stockton
  • Lassiter: Brian Cohn and Dr. Wylie Brown
  • Marietta: Zach Cole and Kibbie DeJarnett
  • McEachern: Cynthia Smith and Christopher Gagnier
  • Mount Paran Christian: Davis Nelson and Brad Smith
  • North Cobb Christian: Branson Dupuy and Ben Carr
  • North Cobb: Nick Arehart and Dr. David Stephenson
  • Osborne: Levi Edouna Obama and Kathryn Chapman
  • Pebblebrook: Madeline Martin and Robert Adams
  • Pope: Krystal Lo and Debra Strydom, Wendi Bao and Dan Sorensen
  • Shiloh Hills Christian: Vanessa Butterworth and Nicole Jones
  • South Cobb: Maddie Harris and Andrew Cole
  • Sprayberry: Tiffany Nguyen and David Martin
  • Walker: Ian Cossentino and Matt Eisenman
  • Walton: Alex Wu and Dr. Tina Link, Catherine Niu and Kelly Bryan
  • Wheeler: Lucy Zhang and Dr. Cheryl Crooks
  • Whitefield Academy: Emily DeMoss and Jesse Breite, Caroline Langella and Rebecca Brown
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides