Senate picks its committee chairs
by The Associated Press
January 14, 2013 11:32 PM | 654 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
ATLANTA — The State Senate Committee on Assignments has selected 27 lawmakers to serve as committee chairs for the first term of the 152nd legislative session.

The committee announced Monday night that 23 Republicans and four Democrats have been selected for committee chairmanship. Committee chairs are responsible for overseeing meetings and calling for actions on bills or issues related to their committee.

Republican Sen. Don Balfour, who was targeted in a GBI probe for filing false expense reports, lost chairmanship of the powerful Rules Committee to Sen. Jeff Mullis, a Republican from Chickamunga. Once proposed legislation passes the committee it began in, it is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.

Republican Sen. Fran Millar, who once chaired the Education Committee, has been selected to chair the Retirement Committee.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides