Cobb well represented with 30 All-State honorees
by John Bednarowski
December 25, 2012 12:01 AM | 4789 views | 2 2 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
For the second straight season, the Georgia Sportswriters Association has honored at least 30 Cobb County football players with All-State honors.

This year, the GSWA named 13 players first-team performers, 10 earned places on second teams and seven earned honorable mention.

It is no surprise after advancing to the Class AAAAAA semifinals that North Cobb would put the most players on the all-state team with six. Tyler Queen, the Marietta Daily Journal Offensive Player of the Year, played his way into the first team quarterback position. Queen, a sophomore who threw for 2,607 yards with 23 touchdowns, and also ran for 926 yards and 20 touchdowns, was joined on the first team by Cobb County leading receiver Xavier Borishade (55 rec., 1,108 yds., 13 TD), and linebacker Shaun Daniels, who led the county in tackles with 162.

The Warriors defensive end Eghosa Agbonghae and kicker A.J. Borduin earned second-team nods and linebacker Hakeem Sawyer earned honorable mention.

“It’s a reflection of the hard work they’ve done all season,” North Cobb coach Shane Queen said, but in the next breath, the painful reality of the Warriors’ semifinal loss was still evident. “I know if you ask them, they all would trade (the all-state selections) in to win that game against Lovejoy.”

Kell had five players earn spots on the Class AAAAA squad. Leading the way was Brendan Langley, who earned the recognition of the Class AAAAA Defensive Player of the Year. Langley (39 tackles, six interceptions, five tackles for loss) was joined on the first team by tight end Michael Valero (21 rec., 366 yds., 3 TD). Two of Langley’s defensive backfield mates — Quincy Mauger and Taylor Henkle – were named to the second team and defensive lineman Ethan Elliott was given honorable mention.

Longhorns coach Derek Cook said the players individual success comes out of the drive to make Kell the best team possible.

“We have competitiveness among our players to get recognition as both individuals and a team,” he said. “The better the individuals perform, the better the team performs.”

Coming off the best season in school history, Walker had two players earn Class A first team honors. Running back Evan Kasian, who was Cobb County’s leading rusher this season with 2,080 yards and 27 touchdowns was joined by offensive lineman Colin Mitchell. They became the first pair of Wolverines to make all-state in the same year.

Lassiter had four players earned Class AAAAAA recognition, but the Region 5AAAAAA champions did not have a player named to the first team. Wide receiver Willie Police, offensive lineman Sam Wood and linebacker Josh Danforth each earned second-team honors, while Cobb County leading passer Eddie Printz was given honorable mention.

Walton, McEachern, Marietta and Allatoona each had two players recognized.

The Raiders Brandon Kublanow became a two-time first-team all-state member by being named to the Class AAAAAA offensive line, while last year’s Class AAAAA Offensive Player of the Year Tyren Jones earned second-team honors. Jones would likely have earned first-team honors for a second straight season had he not been injured in the first quarter of the ninth game of the season. At the time of his injury, Jones was leading Class AAAAAA in rushing with 1,672 yards.

McEachern’s Jajuan Dulaney joined Kublanow on the offensive line, while hard-hitting defensive back Kel Parham earned honorable mention.

Marietta junior linebacker, and team defensive MVP, Tyrell Tomlin earned a spot on the second team, while quarterback Anthony Jennings received honorable mention.

Allatoona’s junior linebacker Justin Wade (144 tackles, four sacks) made the first team defense in Class AAAAA, while running back T.J. Herron earned honorable mention.

Hillgrove, Pope, Wheeler, Harrison and South Cobb each had one player claim a spot on the all-state roster.

Hawks’ tight end Evan Engram (37 rec., 871 yds., 7 TD), Greyhounds’ offensive lineman Max Kemper and the Wildcats’ Allen Arits (140 tackles, 3 INT) each earned first-team honors. Artis is Wheeler’s first first-team all-state selection since Byron Capers in 1992.

Harrison punter Jimmy Hutchinson was named to his second straight second team and South Cobb offensive lineman Niles Hamilton earned honorable mention in Class AAAAAA.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No longer a MDJ fan
December 26, 2012
Nice work relaying the football All State teams. It's a crying shame that you can't do the same for the smaller sports like volleyball. Cobb players garnered almost 1/3 of the available 1st team slots! No metion in the paper. Walton. Harrison, Walker, Pope,among others each had several athletes selected by the state committee. By the way, Ga has the 3rd fastest growing volleyball participation numbers in the nation. Atlanta host one of the 3 largest Jr. national tournaments in the country in April, and Ga. sent more teams (14) to the USAV National Championships than any other state in the nation. Each team had to win a national level qualifier to earn the right to compete. yet, no mention at all. Oh, remember the East Cobb Baseball article a few months back. Cover your community MDJ. You'll sell more!

Happy Holidays and here's to hoping the MDJ can find just a little common sense in the new year.
Dr Common Sense
December 27, 2012
Football sells papers, volleyball doesn't . Common sense
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides