Standing ovation: Fourth annual awards to honor high school theater statewide
by MDJ staff
April 08, 2012 12:00 AM | 1814 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The fourth annual Shuler Hensley Awards are April 17 at 7:30 p.m. at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre. These awards recognize musical theater performers — onstage and backstage — at the high school level.

Forty-two high schools from 12 counties, 14 school districts and private schools from across the state have been nominated in 15 categories. The program is an initiative of the ArtsBridge education program of the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre Foundation.

The ceremony will include performances from the six schools nominated for best overall production, leading actor and actress nominee medleys. Shuler Hensley, Tony-Award winning actor, will also perform with The Shuler Student Ensemble.

Tickets are $15, plus fees, and can be purchased by visiting, calling (800) 653-8000, going to the Bank of North Georgia Box Office at Cobb Energy Centre at 2800 Galleria Parkway. Box office hours are Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For more information on the awards, call (770) 916-2801 or visitwww.shulerawards .org.

Cobb schools received nominations in the following categories:

* Featured Performer: Nora Schell, Pebblebrook High School, “Motormouth Maybelle” in “Hairspray.

* Ensemble: Pebblebrook High School for “Hairspray”

* Costume Design: Pebblebrook High School for “Hairspray, The Walker School for “Xanadu” and Walton High School for “Anything Goes”

* Scenic Design: Pebblebrook High School for “Hairspray”

* Lighting Design: The Walker School for “Xanadu”

* Supporting Actress: Ellen Kozee, Mount Paran Christian School for “Mrs. Higgins” in “My Fair Lady” and Taylor Kate Eubanks, Pebblebrook High School for “Penny Pingleton” in “Hairspray”

* Supporting Actor: Cole Weber, Mount Paran Christian School as “Alfred P. Doolittle” in “My Fair Lady” and Sam Barge, Walton High School as “Lord Evelyn Oakleigh” in “Anything Goes”

* Leading Actress: Angie Zhang, Walton High School as “Reno Sweeney” in “Anything Goes”

* Leading Actor: Mitchell Harrison, Pebblebrook High School as “Edna Turnblad” in “Hairspray”

* Orchestra: North Cobb Christian School for “The King and I” and The Walker School for “Xanadu”

* Choreography: Pebblebrook High School for “Hairspray” and Walton High School in “Anything Goes”

* Music Direction: Pebblebrook High School for “Hairspray”

* Direction: Pebblebrook High School for “Hairspray”

* Overall Production: Pebblebrook High School for “Hairspray”

Cobb schools received honorable mentions in the following categories:

* Technical Execution: The Walker School for “Xanadu”

* Leading Actress: Kelsey Brodeur, Pebblebrook High School, as “Tracy Turnblad” in “Hairspray”

* Music Direction: Walton High School for “Anything Goes”

* Direction: Walton High School for “Anything Goes”

* Overall Production: Walton High School for “Anything Goes”

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides