Public safety honorees announced
by MDJ staff
September 17, 2013 11:54 PM | 1805 views | 0 0 comments | 27 27 recommendations | email to a friend | print
As part of the 15th annual Public Safety Appreciation week, the Cobb Chamber of Commerce will honor the county’s public-safety employees during a special recognition program at the Public Safety Appreciation Breakfast at the Cobb Galleria Centre on Oct. 7.

The breakfast will kick off a weeklong effort to celebrate public safety personnel in Cobb County.

Preparations for the event begin months in advance with the nomination process for the Public Safety Employee of the Year Award in addition to other awards, such as the Medal of Valor, Award of Merit and the Distinguished Achievement Award. Residents, government officials, public safety agencies and business officials were given the opportunity to nominate public safety personnel for the honor.

This year the Cobb Chamber received 47 nominations.

Individual nominees are — Acworth Police Cpl. Luke Reynolds, Smyrna Police Cpl. Darryl Nesbit, Cobb County Fire & Emergency Services Fire Capt. Jon Redwine, Cobb County Police Detective Ray Drew, Cobb County Police Officer Grant Goforth, Cobb County Police Detective Adam Payne, Cobb County Police Rachel Sneed, Cobb County Sheriff’s Sgt. Charles Little, Cobb Galleria Centre Officer Nevin Hillegass, Cobb Galleria Centre Officer Byron Moss, Marietta Fire Lt. Pat Stewart, Marietta Police Officer John Glen, Marietta Police Officer Jason Gunkle, MetroAtlanta Ambulance EMT-Intermediate Kim Burnette, MetroAtlanta Ambulance Paramedic Phil Douglas, Puckett EMS FTO/Paramedic Josh Hopson and Southern Polytechnic State University Police Patrol Sgt. Brad Hogan.

Public Safety unit nominees are — Cobb County Sheriff’s Fugitive Unit, Kennesaw Police Morning Watch D Team, Marietta Fire Company 55 B-Shift, Puckett EMS Unit 340 and Smyrna Fire “A” Shift — Fire Medic 2.

Award winners were chosen by a committee of volunteers. City of Kennesaw Police Chief Bill Westenberger is the chairman of the Cobb Chamber’s 2013 Public Safety Committee. Presenting sponsors for the breakfast are Cobb EMC and Northside Hospital. The Awards sponsor is LoRusso Law Firm, P.C
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides