Cobb representatives receive their Committee assignments
by Jon Gillooly
January 17, 2013 12:00 AM | 3324 views | 1 1 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
ATLANTA — The 15 Cobb state representatives in the Georgia House could have done better than the assignments given to them by House leadership on Wednesday, one political analyst said.

“I wouldn’t say it’s bad, but it would be nice to have more heft on Budget Oversight, Transportation, Ways & Means or Economic Development,” said Dr. Kerwin Swint, a political science professor at Kennesaw State University. “Having (state Rep. Earl Ehrhart) on Appropriations and (state Rep. Rich Golick) on Rules helps. Those are just some key committees for a big metro county.”

Leadership positions that Cobb state representatives received include Don Parsons (R-northeast Cobb), chairman of the Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Committee; with John Carson (R-northeast Cobb) named secretary of that committee; Ehrhart (R-Powder Springs), chairman of the Higher Education Subcommittee on Appropriations; Sharon Cooper (R-east Cobb), chairman of Health and Human Services; Matt Dollar (R-east Cobb), chairman of Interstate Cooperation; Ed Setzler (R-Acworth), chairman of Science and Technology; Golick (R-Smyrna), chairman of the Judiciary Non Civil, as well as vice chairman of Rules; and Carson, secretary of Intergovernmental Coordination.

The House Judiciary Non-Civil Committee generally handles all legislation involving criminal laws, Golick said.

While not in leadership roles, some Cobb representatives were appointed as regular members of the committees Swint referenced.

Dollar is on the Health Subcommittee for Appropriations; Golick and Sheila Jones (D-south Cobb) are on the Higher Education Subcommittee of Appropriations chaired by Ehrhart; Parsons is on the General Government Subcommittee on Appropriations; Setzler is on the Human Resources Subcommittee on Appropriations; Alisha Morgan (D-Austell) is on the Economic Development Subcommittee on Appropriations; Cooper, Ehrhart and Setzler are on Rules; Carson and Parsons are on Ways and Means; Dollar, Jones and Setzler are on Transportation; and David Wilkerson (D-Austell) is on Budget and Fiscal Affairs Oversight.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
January 17, 2013
Glad to see that they put CPA Rep. Wilkerson on Budget and Fiscal Affairs oversight.

It however stuns me that Rep. Dollar is chairman of anything. It would be comical if it's not completely sad that he'd be on anything labeled "Cooperation" given that none of his published phone numbers work, and he is MIA at anything in Cobb, especially E. Cobb. I've lived here since 1990 and only seen him at one event. Of course we all know the committee he's really in charge of is the "sit down, shut up and vote like we tell you to committee"

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides