Cobb County Touchdown Club finally gets to honor best players from 2013 season
by Adam Carrington
February 25, 2014 04:00 AM | 5691 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The mother of Mike Rogers, Anita Perkins, gets a hug from former Campbell football coach Harris Rainbow as she accepts her son’s Cobb County Touchdown Club Player of the Year award Monday night. Rogers was unable to attend because of a work commitment.
The mother of Mike Rogers, Anita Perkins, gets a hug from former Campbell football coach Harris Rainbow as she accepts her son’s Cobb County Touchdown Club Player of the Year award Monday night. Rogers was unable to attend because of a work commitment.
MARIETTA – Anita Perkins picked up a little hardware on Monday at the Cobb County Touchdown Club Awards Banquet, and she’s not about to give it back.

Perkins accepted the Cobb County Touchdown Club Player of the Year award on behalf of her son Mike Rogers, the Campbell standout who finished the regular season as Class AAAAAA’s leading rusher.

With Rogers unable to attend the banquet because or scheduling conflicts at work, Perkins spoke in his place and concluded her brief speech by saying, “Mike did all the work, but I get to keep the trophy.”

The Touchdown Club banquet was originally scheduled for Jan. 30, and Rogers changed his work schedule so he could attend, but it was postponed not once, but twice because of the recent snow storms.

This was just the latest addition to a long list of accolades for the Campbell standout, who will concentrate on playing safety when he heads to Central Florida in the fall.

Rogers played a major role on both sides of the ball in helping the Spartans to a 4-6 record, their best record since 2007. He rushed for 1,735 yards and 23 touchdowns on offense while compiling 85 tackles, forcing five fumbles and catching three interceptions. He was also busy on special teams as well, averaging 42.4 yards on kickoff returns with a touchdown and returned six punts for 156 yards and a score.

“He’s an awesome kid all the way around,” Perkins said of Rogers. “He is my very first child. Not only he is the first graduate of our family of men in an entire generation, he’s one of the first ones to go to college behind me. I’m very, very proud of him.”

Kell coach Derek Cook was tabbed as Touchdown Club Coach of the Year and his Longhorns were named Team of the Year after completing their second undefeated season in four years and making a historic run to the Class AAAAA state semifinals.

Cook, who is an offensive-minded coach, said during his acceptance speech that he and his staff recently met with former Harrison coach Bruce Cobleigh to pick up on a few things on how Cobleigh ran his offense.

“He’s a guru,” Cook said. “When I was a young assistant, I remember one year he’d be in the spread and he’d go 10-0. The next year, he’d be in a Wing-T and he’d go 10-0. So I sat down with him and picked his brain and he had some concepts in the passing game we wanted to explore.”

Hillgrove quarterback Elijah Ironside was named Offensive Player of the Year, and Marietta linebacker Tyrell Tomlin was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Ironside throwing for 41 touchdowns, 2,515 passing yards and 187 completions wasn’t expected. He has dealt with nagging injuries prior to his senior year. His coach and father Phil Ironside said the goal for him was to stay healthy because the Hawks didn’t have a backup quarterback.

“He didn’t have lofty goals,” Phil Ironside said. “He wasn’t expecting awards. He wanted to win more games than he lost and wanted to stay healthy. He comes up the first ballgame and he throws three touchdowns, come up against Walton and throws five touchdowns. (Against Campbell), he throws seven touchdowns.”

Marietta will have to find someone new to anchor its defense with Tomlin graduating this season.

The North Carolina signee set a school record 23 tackles in Marietta’s win over Harrison in the season finale to earn a spot in the Class AAAAAA state playoffs and finished the year with 109. He also had four interceptions.

Cobb County Touchdown Club 2013 Awards

Player of the Year — Mike Rogers, Campbell

Offensive Player of the Year — Elijah Ironside, Hillgrove

Defensive Player of the Year — Tyrell Tomlin, Marietta

Coach of the Year — Derek Cook, Kell

Offensive Lineman of the Year — Chuma Edoga, McEachern

Running Back of the Year — Richardre Bagley, Hillgrove

Receiver of the Year — Jordan Mathis, Marietta

Quarterback of the Year — Tyler Queen, North Cobb

Defensive Lineman of the Year — Jaylan Reid, Hillgrove

Linebacker of the Year — LeMarkus Bailey, Hillgrove

Defensive Back of the Year — Taylor Henkle, Kell

48-Minute Man of the Year — Joey Connors, Harrison

Offensive Assistant of the Year — Van Spence, McEachern

Offensive Assistant of the Year — Jonathan Gordon, Kell

Defensive Assistant of the Year — Ken Nix, Hillgrove

Team of the Year — Kell Longhorns



Offensive Line

Josh Adams, Harrison

Isaiah Borne, Marietta

Darrius Burton, Sprayberry

Max Kemper, Pope

Cameron Kowalewski, Hillgrove

Amir Moore, Allatoona

Daniel Oyola, KMHS

Eric Smith, Walton

Nathan Waller, Kell

Sam Wood, Lassiter

Running Backs

Kirvonte Benson, Marietta

Josh Bettistea, Allatoona

Taj Griffin, McEachern

Devontae Jackson, Wheeler

Dorian Walker, MPC


Julian Burris, Kell

Justin Denton, Hillgrove

Marlon Horne, Campbell

Quincy Perdue, Lassiter

Emoni Williams, MPC

Tight Ends

Matt Eidson, Harrison

Davis Pidgeon, Walton

Trey Scott, McEachern


Will Anderson, Lassiter

Ty Clemons, McEachern


Defensive Line

JaQuinton Alston-Thompson, Osborne

Bradley Chubb, Hillgrove

Ethan Elliott, Kell

Corey John, Lassiter

Justin Jones, South Cobb

Julian Rochester, McEachern

Dreyon Williams, Walton


Sky Dupree, Whitefield Academy

Glenn Frazier, McEachern

Ridge Gibson, Walton

Keith Hampton, Kell

Derrick Johnson, Sprayberry

Chad McClanahan, North Cobb

Gaiyon Reavish, Campbell

Nick Sbravati, MPC

Defensive Backs

Cam Albright, North Cobb

Allen Artis, Wheeler

Latrell Gibbs, North Cobb

Keegan Karim, Harrison

Jay Moxey, Kell

Chris Murphy, Lassiter

Rahmoi Parsons, McEachern



Ian Shannon, Marietta


Rodrigo Blankenship, Sprayberry


T.J. Rahming, McEachern

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides